Simple application, Simple Bug(?) and a Simple Investigation

NOTE : If you ask how simple is it? it depends😉

Twitter changed the way I communicate. It is simple, sweet, short and faster way to share information.

Recently I started using HootSuite, a social media tool to manage my social networking activities. This has a nice little option to view twitter profiles. On clicking a twitter handle opens a pop up that displays bio, picture options to reply, DM, follow, unfollow and few others. I clicked on my own twitter profile. To my surprise that also has follow, unfollow, DM options enabled. So first tried to Follow myself (a tester in full swing😉 ) got a message “You can’t follow\unfollow yourself” hmm that looks good.

Then, I clicked on Direct Message(DM) to myself and was able to send a DM successfully to myself. I am not sure if this is the correct behavior or is a problem? If it is a problem, where is the problem?

I never tried sending DM to myself from twitter, so next tried to send DM to myself from twitter.

From the Direct Message options, tried sending a DM, it was not allowed.

Next tried with other option available to send DM, home page directly.

Oh! it is possible and the DM delivered to my twitter inbox. So there is inconsistency in handling DM to oneself in twitter. So, it is a problem.

So,as  a tester should look for as many details as possible like trying out all possible input and output options at API level, DB levels and UI levels, before logging a bug. That will help report the problem clear thus issue might get fixed faster and better.

Above all, first thing you should do on finding an issue is check if that is already logged. If yes, compare with your observation with those details, and provide information if you feel something is missed out.

Exploring more on this, Twitter help on DM says DM cannot be send to a user who is not following you and there is no mention of DM to yourself.  Since I can send a DM to myself but I am not following myself, so does this mean the claim made by twitter that “you cannot send a DM to a user who is not following you” is wrong?

What is your view?

Now your turn to investigate the not so user friendly message.

Below error message was from Windows XP with SP2, this happened while renaming a normal windows  folder. As a user what did you understand from this message? And what actions would you perform as a user to solve this problem?

Here is the investigation report of above Windows bug

Click here to see more such bug(?) posts.

Share

8 thoughts on “Simple application, Simple Bug(?) and a Simple Investigation

  1. Dhanasekar,

    Nice conclusion. I too have few encounters.

    The first one in twitter once was seeing the @mention tweets twice. http://twitpic.com/29w5pj/full

    Next Gmail invites Gmail users to open a Gmail account. http://twitpic.com/2d4qiq/full

    Testers look at simple things. A major bug can hide itself inside a simple thing where you least expect. That’s why they are bug.

    Keep posting.

    Ajoy Singha
    http://www.ajoysingha.info
    http://www.testingcircus.com

    1. //Next Gmail invites Gmail users to open a Gmail account. //
      That’s marketing ,out of our control 😉
      Yes,Simple things make a lot of difference,again twitter itself is a great example,what great you have in twitter? Nothing,the success lies behind its simplicity. You just build simple\basic things close to perfect 🙂
      –Dhanasekar S

  2. Thanks for sharing you bug finding actions with us, Dhanasekar S!

    Oh! it is possible and the DM delivered to my twitter inbox. So there is inconsistency in handling DM to oneself in twitter. So, it is a problem.

    Does it hinder YOU if the problem isn’t resolved? Does it hinder ANYONE ELSE if the problem isn’t resolved? If you answered both these questions with “NO”, is there a problem?

    I see you used a heuristic approach for investigating or solving a problems. Possible you used the oracle heuristic “HICCUPSF” by James Bach. He explains that one way of finding possible problems in behavior or a give function is to check for consistency against the behavior of comparable functions or functional patterns within the same product (unless there is a specific reason for it not to be consistent). But even when you did find something that’s worth checking further, it doesn’t make it a problem YET.

    So, worth giving back as feedback to e.g. Twitter? I’d say yes, always! Is it a problem? Maybe, maybe not. Yet to be determined!

    My two cents:
    Only classify something as as “bug” or a “problem” when it’s actually bugging someone who matter or when it’s de-valueing something for someone who matter. In all other cases: “finding”.

    1. Thanks Michel Kraaij,
      For reading through the posts and commenting,yes this scenario really does not bug any users other than oneself😉
      The main motto of me blogging is to help (budding) testers to apply various oracles and heuristics depending on context and priority . Also all these bugs were not found intentionally, as a user when ever I encounter them I investigate,explore by applying various oracles and heuristics. I believe it will help others🙂
      Here I tried to explain consistency and claims testing, Claims testing is one area where testers focus very rarely.But that is very critical area,because customers can take legal action upon the claims made by the software we develop.
      –Dhanasekar S

  3. My thoughts,

    >> Then, I clicked on Direct Message(DM) to myself and was able to send a DM successfully to myself. I am not sure if this is the correct behavior or is a problem? If it is a problem, where is the problem? <> Oh! it is possible and the DM delivered to my twitter inbox. So there is inconsistency in handling DM to oneself in twitter. So, it is a problem. <> Below error message was from Windows XP with SP2, this happened while renaming a normal windows folder. As a user what did you understand from this message? And what actions would you perform as a user to solve this problem? <<

    The file that you are trying to change the name is being used or is in processes – Was the file which you wanted to re-name opened?

    Thanks,
    Santhosh Shivanand Tuppad

Leave a Reply

