Writing is hard work, not a gift

08/08/08 Testingideas was born,and it has  completed two years🙂 . What a way to celebrate that!  My first article got published in a magazine. My article titled Context Driven Jumping featured in Software testing Club’s The Test Planet July 2010 edition, you can read the article here. Thanks to friends who reviewed my article and a sincere thanks  to STC’s Editorial team for shaping that into a wonderful article.

Looking back,  a lot had happened in two years.I never ever written anything on my own before I stared the blog. First year hardly few know about my blog and I did not blog much due to various personal reasons. Things started getting to shape from August 2009,  I started blogging regularly. In March 2010, James Bach recognized my writings and blogged about me. That was a very huge confidence booster for me . From then I started seeing my blog getting added to few others blog rolls as well. I take this opportunity to thank them all for the faith they have in me.

I am not great writer to write about writing, but I can definitely say Writing is not a gift. It all begins with, why you are writing and what is the intent and what you want to get out of it, plus passion and interest.

“Mr. Universe doesn’t have more muscles than I do, just better developed ones” ~ Jerry Weinberg in his book “Becoming A Technical Leader An Organic Problem-Solving Approach”

I realized writing is more efficient way to learn. This blog has helped to learn a lot than I did before. For every sentence you write, you will start asking yourself hundreds of questions, will be forced to refer more authentic source before publishing. So that helps you to gain more knowledge. Also this blog has helped me to find many well wishers and friends. And another biggest advantage of blogging you remember for long what you wrote than what you read.

Many are hesitant to express their views, because they bother about people making fun out of it. Yes, there will be few to make fun out of whatever you do. Don’t bother about them. They will never help you to grow, neither will they. But look to the wonderful people who appreciate, encourage, guide, caution, help and teach you.

“Your regrets aren’t what you did, but what you didn’t do. So take every opportunity” ~Cameron Diaz

“Every step taken may not be correct, but YOU need to take a step to find that” ~ Dhanasekar S😀

My suggestions to aspirant bloggers , Keep it simple and plain, write about experience and learning those learnt after trying out practical approach to problems and about its success or failure.

Ah!Are you still reading my post?  I was expecting you to have started a blog by this time if you don’t have one.

“The writer learns to write, in the last resort, only by writing. He must get words onto paper even if he is dissatisfied with them.” ~ Paul Johnson

Happy Writing!

Dhanasekar  S.

28 thoughts on “Writing is hard work, not a gift

    1. Hi Rob,
      It was great pleasure working with you and thanks once again for such a wonderful edit done on my article,that really helped me to improve my writing.I throughly enjoyed all other articles as well.
      And By the Way this blog is now in it’s third year🙂

  1. Ah no!!!…
    I might sound negative.
    I think it depends on what you are writing.

    Creativity cannot be developed by hard work.

    I can write blogs, technical articles, presentations, political economic articles, but surely I cant write like Nobel laureates.

    1. Aravind,
      Why not Nobel Laureates? Quoting again
      “Mr. Universe doesn’t have more muscles than I do, just better developed ones” ~ Jerry Weinberg .I think the same applies to brainy and creative stuff as well,it is all about effort,determination,commitment ,hardwork ,smartwork.

  2. Congratulations Dhanasekar!!
    Your article in the Testing Planet is a good read.

    Agree with you…writing is hard work and can be improved only with practise… that is more n more writing!!

    Best wishes,
    Priya.

  3. Yes writing is not a easy job. It will improve day by day practices. Any way you are write up is excellent. They way of presentations is also good with some notations. Congratulations! Keep Rocking!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

