I,Me,Dad and Jerry Weinberg

I

Couple of weeks back I went to  Prism book store (Jayanagara IVth block, Bangalore) to check out if any of Gerald M Weinberg books are available. Actually I entered with no hope, because Landmark and flipkart.com could not get any of Weinberg’s books other than Perfect Software: And Other Illusions about Testing. But this book store turned out to have most of DH publications books. I jumped out in joy on seeing many Jerry Weinberg’s books there. I went to cash counter after selecting Are Your Lights On? (with Donald C. Gause), Becoming a Technical Leader, An Introduction to General Systems Thinking and Rethinking Systems Analysis and Design. While cashier was billing those books, I took Perfect Software from stands, gave that to cashier to find its price and to compare with the price I bought from flipkart.com. Mean while she billed those four books and gave the receipt. I checked if the receipt was billed correctly for the books I selected, she smiled. Then she gave me the books. I again checked if books were the same as what I selected. She again smiled and told “Sir! those were the books you bought and no other customers are here, so there won’t be any chance for mistakes to happen”. I knew she would be cursing but showed a smiling face as trained. But my checking uncovered her mistake of giving me with extra book of Perfect Software book which was not purchased. Now she showed real smile and said both sorry and thanks. Do you realize what was achieved here? I built credibility. When I went to the shop next time, I was greeted with a warm welcome. I experienced similar situations many times while shopping, either I would end up giving back extra shares or I would get back my missed shares correctly, but every time it helped to built a relationship and trust. So

I test everything, and I build credibility.

How about You?

I and Me

After attending BWST02 got an email from Pradeep addressed To all the participants with co-organizer and facilitator in the CC list. I wanted to share a Google spreadsheet with all of them. So from that email I copied all the addresses present in To field and pasted them into Google doc’s invitation, and I always believe I am smart, so I knew I need to copy contacts from CC as well, so I copied addresses from CC as well and believed that I  invited everyone. But Me never believes I is still smart enough, so after a while Me logged into the Google doc, checked if I has invited everyone. No surprises! found that I missed out inviting, the one and only Pradeep, because he was in From address🙂. So, Me logged a bug against I and sent a separate invite to Pradeep. So

I test everything, and I am tested by Me as well.

How about You?

Dad

I opine this characteristic of checking, validation, verification or testing was inherited from my dad. He is a shopkeeper, and so thought me the habit of testing everything. I still remember those childhood days,watched him verifying the lists customers brought in and validate the items against the list before that would be given to customers. He taught me the importance of such V and V activities politely until that became a practice to me.  So

Dad is the first and best testing Role model  for I and Me.

Who is your Role model? If answer is “Don’t know”, find one soon now

Jerry Weinberg

I was never a book worm. Lessons Learned in Software testing was the one and only technical book I read completely. I recently read four chapters in Perfect Software and I was floored! I am now starting to read all of Weinberg’s books. I am fallen in love with his books, very interesting and practical story telling style takes me to a different orbit, from there my mind just starts analysis better and grapple a lot better than ever before. And jaw-dropping insight from such stories, mind blowing…  lack of my vocabulary I use these words. Now

Yes, I am a Worm, Jerry Weinberg Worm!

What worm are You?  If answer is “Don’t know”, become one soon now

Happy Testing Yourself ! and Happy Reading!

– I and Me, a Jerry Weinberg Worm.

Share

6 thoughts on “I,Me,Dad and Jerry Weinberg

  1. I read ‘The Psychology of Computer Programming’ some thirty years back. Together with Fred Brooks’ MMM, it’s one of the books I think influenced my thinking about software most. Only recently did I find affordable copies of Jerry’s other titles, and of the four you mention I’ve already got three.

    Recommended reading, all of them. And practice.

  2. Lovely post with interesting anecdotes… I guess everyone has a tester’s trait too… just that we take it to a new level when we do it professionally🙂
    Practice is the key here!

    1. Priya,
      But how many are using the tester’s trait? I am seeing many don’t bother to check whether balance given back to them is correct. I am seeing this everywhere in shops and buses. As you said Practice is the key.

  3. Good usage of object pronoun (Me) and subject pronoun (I). But in dad section, I believe you were about to write ‘taught’ and wrote ‘thought’ here: “and so thought me the habit of testing everything”.

    I enjoyed reading & was smiling when you gained credibility from the cashier. Well written!

    I think every tester should practice doing this: “I test everything, and I am tested by me as well”

Leave a Reply

